Destitution

(hijab flutter ~ Yasmin Mogahed)

“I have nothing except but my destitution
To plead for me with You.
And in my poverty I put forward that destitution as my plea.
I have no power save to knock at Your door,
And if I be turned away, at what door shall I knock?
Or on whom shall I call, crying his name,
If Your generosity is refused to Your destitute one?
Far be it from Your generosity to drive the disobedient one to despair!
Generosity is more freehanded than that.
In lowly wretchedness I have come to Your door,
Knowing that degradation there finds help.
In full abandon I put my trust in You,
Stretching out my hands to You, a pleading beggar.”
– Sh. Abdul Qadirhas

  1. #1 by Jessica Lynne Carnesmustdie on December 31, 2011 - 12:00 pm

    So beautiful and humbling. I’ve been inside a black hole in the middle where the light just doesn’t reach, and I finally reached out let go of my ego. Now I feel much better. Love love this one. Side bar, took an Art History course and the second half was devoted to Islamic art–fascinating. Thank you.

  2. #2 by Umm Nuh Ruwayda on February 25, 2012 - 7:32 pm

    So beautiful mashaAllah tabarakAllah. Who is the sheikh who wrote this?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

